The course helped me so much

Thursday 16th November 2017

CELTA Review Budapest, Hungary

"The course helped me so much"

Lizzie Hug , United Kingdom
5/5

After graduating from a degree in Illustration in July 2013, I realised that I wanted to teach and travel, and whilst art and design is my passion, I’d studied it for 7 years straight and needed a change of scenery.

Originally, I ended up doing a TEFL certificate and teaching apprenticeship in Hanoi, Vietnam. I lived and worked there for 5 months and then travelled for a month after. I fell in love with the job and also the fact it could take need anywhere.

I came home a bit starry eyed and luckily gained work experience in a local language school working full time, and I decided that it was time to get my CELTA, as it had been recommended to me from the beginning.

I knew about the course because both my brothers did it and I was very excited (and and little scared!) to get going with it!

I chose the Budapest teacher training centre because of their excellent reputation world wide, and Budapest as a city because I’d always wanted to go there and also the prices were a little less expensive than elsewhere!

So writing this, I finished the course exactly 3 weeks ago. I am back at my old language school all and having a great time teaching lovely students.

The course helped me so much. With teaching, it’s easy to learn bad habits and the CELTA teaches you to analyse your own behaviour and habits and change them.

The course also acts as a tool kit that supplies you with literally everything (even as a complete beginner) you need to teach English. It is scary because there is as lot to be learnt on the job too, but CELTA just helps to prepare you for most scenarios you’ll encounter, such as quiet classes, one to ones, larger classes, business English and young learners.

The teachers were great. It helped that they made us laugh a lot as it’s as very intense course and I think the laughter helped us through it! They were so approachable. If we had any wobbley moments with lesson planning they were there to make suggestions and encourage us through it!

The lesson planning support and class feedback (ALP) was so useful. On the course you learn a lot of  transferable skills too.

I did the CELTA already having experience, so my advice to those in the same position is to come on to the course ready to change a lot of what you know about teaching. You’ll be dropping those bad teacher talk habits and totally reprogramming your brain (in a really good way!). Be open to the advice and take it all on board.

To the complete beginners and those with experience, sleep, time management, eating and looking after yourself will really serve you well on the intensive course as you need your brain working for you! And don’t panic. It’s all doable, you just need to prioritise.

For now I am staying in Portsmouth teaching English as it has a great influx of students every few months so work is regular. However, in the future I plan to do my DELTA (in about 2 years) and hope to gain experience in other countries across the globe. I’d like to volunteer at English schools in third world and developing countries too.

Course Type

CELTA

Course Location

Budapest, Hungary

Overall Rating

Budapest, Hungary

5.0/5 (30)
  • Training English teachers since 1988
  • Located in the Inner City district of Budapest
  • Strong team of experienced trainers

The Budapest teacher training centre has had a great reputation for training teachers since 1988. The highly experienced team in Budapest work hard to pass on their knowledge in the most effective way possible and provide the support you need. The centre is a few minutes walk from Fővám tér M tram stop and right next to the Danube river, located within minutes walk of supermarkets and other amenities.

Like all centres, the centre offers teacher training courses to native and non-native speakers of English. It is an approved University of Cambridge teacher training centre offering teacher training programmes leading to the University of Cambridge qualification in teaching English, i.e. CELTA Certificate.

The English Teacher Trainers in Budapest, Hungary:

The permanent team of highly advanced teacher trainers have a lively and fun outlook when teacher training. They are an enthusiastic, motivated and experienced group and have been carefully selected to ensure the highest standard of teaching for our CELTA and DELTA trainees.

More CELTA Face to Face Reviews in Budapest

WP_Post Object
(
    [ID] => 1947932229
    [post_author] => 1
    [post_date] => 2017-11-16 00:00:00
    [post_date_gmt] => 2017-11-16 00:00:00
    [post_content] => After graduating from a degree in Illustration in July 2013, I realised that I wanted to teach and travel, and whilst art and design is my passion, I'd studied it for 7 years straight and needed a change of scenery.

Originally, I ended up doing a TEFL certificate and teaching apprenticeship in Hanoi, Vietnam. I lived and worked there for 5 months and then travelled for a month after. I fell in love with the job and also the fact it could take need anywhere.

I came home a bit starry eyed and luckily gained work experience in a local language school working full time, and I decided that it was time to get my CELTA, as it had been recommended to me from the beginning.

I knew about the course because both my brothers did it and I was very excited (and and little scared!) to get going with it!

I chose the Budapest teacher training centre because of their excellent reputation world wide, and Budapest as a city because I'd always wanted to go there and also the prices were a little less expensive than elsewhere!

So writing this, I finished the course exactly 3 weeks ago. I am back at my old language school all and having a great time teaching lovely students.

The course helped me so much. With teaching, it's easy to learn bad habits and the CELTA teaches you to analyse your own behaviour and habits and change them.

The course also acts as a tool kit that supplies you with literally everything (even as a complete beginner) you need to teach English. It is scary because there is as lot to be learnt on the job too, but CELTA just helps to prepare you for most scenarios you'll encounter, such as quiet classes, one to ones, larger classes, business English and young learners.

The teachers were great. It helped that they made us laugh a lot as it's as very intense course and I think the laughter helped us through it! They were so approachable. If we had any wobbley moments with lesson planning they were there to make suggestions and encourage us through it!

The lesson planning support and class feedback (ALP) was so useful. On the course you learn a lot of  transferable skills too.

I did the CELTA already having experience, so my advice to those in the same position is to come on to the course ready to change a lot of what you know about teaching. You'll be dropping those bad teacher talk habits and totally reprogramming your brain (in a really good way!). Be open to the advice and take it all on board.

To the complete beginners and those with experience, sleep, time management, eating and looking after yourself will really serve you well on the intensive course as you need your brain working for you! And don't panic. It's all doable, you just need to prioritise.

For now I am staying in Portsmouth teaching English as it has a great influx of students every few months so work is regular. However, in the future I plan to do my DELTA (in about 2 years) and hope to gain experience in other countries across the globe. I'd like to volunteer at English schools in third world and developing countries too.
    [post_title] => The course helped me so much
    [post_excerpt] => 
    [post_status] => publish
    [comment_status] => closed
    [ping_status] => closed
    [post_password] => 
    [post_name] => the-course-helped-me-so-much
    [to_ping] => 
    [pinged] => 
    [post_modified] => 2022-04-07 09:37:50
    [post_modified_gmt] => 2022-04-07 08:37:50
    [post_content_filtered] => 
    [post_parent] => 0
    [guid] => http://studycelta.com/the-course-helped-me-so-much/
    [menu_order] => 0
    [post_type] => reviews
    [post_mime_type] => 
    [comment_count] => 0
    [filter] => display
)